Pritpal Soorae

In recognition of his more than 20 years of dedicated service to the SSC Conservation Translocation (formerly Reintroduction) Specialist Group, backstopping the work of three successive chairs of the group, advinhnMand

Mr Quentin Luke

In recognition of his exceptional leadership of plant conservation in East Africa, and especially for founding and driving forward the SSC East African Plant Red List Authority.

Dr Goutam Narayan

In recognition of his pivotal role on leading the Pygmy Hog Conservation Programme in north-eastern India since 1995, thus saving a whole genus from extinction, and his long service to the SSC Wild Pig Specialist Group.

Dr Mijoro Rakotoarinivo

In recognition of his pioneering leadership on the conservation of palms in Madagascar, including his huge contributions to the SSC Madagascar Plant and Palm Specialist Groups.

Dr William Robichaud

In recognition of his extraordinary leadership in raising global attention for

Dr Danna Leaman

IUCN SSC Plant Conservation Sub-Committee, in recognition of her inspirational role in the development of the International Standard for Sustainable Wild Collection of Medicinal and Aromatic Plants (ISSC-MAP) and for ably assisting the work of the Plant Conservation Sub-Committee.

Dr Brooks Childress

Chair of the IUCN SSC Flamingo Specialist Group, in recognition of his active engagement in the challenges facing the Lesser Flamingo at Lake Natron, measurably demonstrating the power of the "One Programme" approach.

2006 Mr Robin Sharp

Chair of the European Chapter of the SSC Sustainable Use Specialist Group was awarded in recognition of his extensive contribution to the SSC's work on sustainable use. He has chaired the European Regional Group since its foundation in 1997, and it now has 140 members in 40 countries.

2004

Dr Perran Ross SSC Crocodile Specialist Group. Dr Ross was given this award in recognition of his dynamism and dedication in creating one of the most active and successful Specialist Groups, and helping to secure the sustainable use of crocodilians.

Dr Patricia Medici

Chair of the SSC Tapir Specialist Group, one of the network's most energetic and enthusiastic members was awarded for her tireless ef orts in generating sustainable conservation action for the world's tapirs.